Wednesday, 17 July 2013

Bob Dylan's The Bootleg Series Vol. 10 Another Self Portrait (1969 - 1971)

'Self Portrait' was always regarded as the album that showed Dylan's everyman fallibility. It was the album that he said was constructed as a weapon to help him slip away from the 'spokesman for a generation' tag that had been placed upon him. The critics ravaged it un-mercilessly with even ardent Bob Dylan fan Greil Marcus stating "What is this shit?" in his  1970 Rolling Stone review of the album.

Bob Dylan has said since that he made an album that nobody could possibly like. In later years when discussing the album and the times it was recorded in Dylan said "Well, it wouldn't have held up as a single album, then it really would've been bad, you know?. I mean, if you're gonna put a lot of crap on it, you might as well load it up!"

Don't listen to all the critics, give it a listen and make your own mind up. It's not his greatest work by any stretch of the imagination but there are definite high points sprinkled throughout. 'Copper Kettle', 'The Days of 49', 'All the Tired Horses', 'Alberta #1' and 'Living The Blues' all have found a home in his cannon of classics where as songs such as his cover versions of 'Let it Be Me', 'The Boxer' and the god awful version of his own 'Like A Rolling Stone' should be locked in a concrete safe and dropped to the bottom of the Atlantic.

This new release has managed to compile many,many unreleased versions of the songs that were recorded at the 'Self Portrait' sessions as well as during the follow up 'New Morning' (35 rarities in total recorded between 1969-1971).  There will be 3 versions available on August 27th the first a standard 2CD+soft cover booklet, the next up is the 'Deluxe version' which includes 3LPs, 2 CD's and a 12x12" booklet included. Finally for the more obsessive fan there is the super dupa fan dabby dozy version which includes 4 CD'S, 2 hardcover books (including photos and liner notes) all housed in a hardover slip case at a snip of £63.99GBP.

Complete track listing for The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)

CD 1

1. "Went to See the Gypsy" (demo)
2 "In Search of Little Sadie" (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
3. "Pretty Saro" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
4. "Alberta #3" (alternate version, Self Portrait)
5. "Spanish Is the Loving Tongue" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
6. "Annie's Going to Sing Her Song" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
7. "Time Passes Slowly #1" (alternate version, New Morning)
8. "Only a Hobo" (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
9. "Minstrel Boy" (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
10. "I Threw It All Away" (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
11. "Railroad Bill" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
12. "Thirsty Boots" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13. "This Evening So Soon" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
14. "These Hands" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
15. "Little Sadie" (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
16. "House Carpenter" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
17. "All the Tired Horses" (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

CD 2
1. "If Not For You" (alternate version, New Morning)
2. "Wallflower" (alternate version, 1971)
3. "Wigwam" (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
4. "Days of '49" (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
5. "Working on a Guru" (unreleased, New Morning)
6. "Country Pie" (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
7. "I'll Be Your Baby Tonight" (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
8. "Highway 61 Revisited" (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
9. "Copper Kettle" (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
10. "Bring Me a Little Water" (unreleased, New Morning)
11. "Sign on the Window" (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
12. "Tattle O'Day" (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13. "If Dogs Run Free" (alternate version, New Morning)
14. "New Morning" (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
15. "Went to See the Gypsy" (alternate version, New Morning)
16. "Belle Isle" (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
17. "Time Passes Slowly #2" (alternate version, New Morning)
18. "When I Paint My Masterpiece" (demo)

Bob Dylan & the Band at Isle of Wight - August 31st, 1969
1. "She Belongs to Me"
2. "I Threw It All Away"
3. "Maggie's Farm"
4. "Wild Mountain Thyme"
5. "It Ain't Me, Babe"
6. "To Ramona"/"Mr. Tambourine Man"
7. "I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine"
8. "Lay Lady Lay"
9. "Highway 61 Revisited"
10. "One Too Many Mornings"
11. "I Pity the Poor Immigrant"
12. "Like a Rolling Stone"
13. "I'll Be Your Baby Tonight"
14. "Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)"
15. "Minstrel Boy"
16. "Rainy Day Women #12 & 35"

Read more:
Follow us: @rollingstone on Twitter | RollingStone on Facebook

Available on pre-order via AMAZON (see below)|B00DY951RQ|B00DY951TO&utm_content=nllink-2a003052-Amazon&utm_medium=email&cid=nl%3A704658431&utm_source=uscolumbia-bobdylan&utm_campaign=email-uscolumbia-bobdylan-20130716-nl704658431&tag=smarturl-20

and Bob Dylan's Official site

No comments:

Post a Comment